Defending Against Felony DUI/DWI Charges
In Connecticut, repeat and felony DUI/DWI charges are extremely serious. For example, conviction of a second DUI offense within 10 years can result in up to a two-year prison sentence and up to a $4,000 fine. At the law firm of Paoletti & Gusmano, Attorneys at Law, our lawyers have more than 50 years of combined experience handling DUI. There are defenses to DUI charges, and our attorneys will put our knowledge and resources to work for you.
For a free initial consultation with our firm about repeat offense DUI charges, contact us by calling our offices in Bridgeport at 203-371-1000.
Penalties For Felony And Repeat DUI Offenses
The following charge summarizes the penalties for repeat DUI in Connecticut:
|Second offense within 10 years
- Up to two years (mandatory minimum of 120 consecutive days and 100 hours community service)
- $1,000 to $4,000 fine
- Three-year loss of license (may be eligible after 45 days to driving only a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device)
|Third and subsequent offenses within 10 years
- Up to three years (mandatory minimum of one year and 100 hours community service)
- $2,000 to $8,000 fine
- Permanent driver’s license revocation (eligible for reinstatement with ignition interlock after six years)
You will be considered a “persistent operating under the influence felony offender” if you are convicted of second-degree vehicular manslaughter or assault while driving under the influence and you have a prior DUI conviction in the previous 10 years. As a convicted felon, you face a substantial prison sentence and loss of certain civil rights. Our lawyers will thoroughly examine police reports, field sobriety and breath test results, and all other evidence the state has against you. Then we will work with experts to build the most effective defense.
Contact Our Firm After A Repeat Or Felony DWI Charge
The sooner you contact us, the more time we have to prepare your defense. Call 203-371-1000 to speak with an experienced lawyer about a repeat DUI offense. You may also contact us online.