DUI Penalties In Connecticut
If you are found guilty in a criminal case for drunk driving in the state of Connecticut, there are significant penalties that you may face as a result, including the license suspension and a mark on your criminal record. Depending on the circumstances, and your criminal record, you could also serve jail time.
It is important to consult with an experienced attorney as soon as possible to protect your rights. You have the right to a criminal defense. The experienced lawyers of Paoletti & Gusmano, Attorneys at Law, can provide a defense that protects your interests before the criminal court and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). We have more than 50 years of combined trial experience handling drunk driving cases and are not afraid to challenge the police and their evidence.
After a DUI or DWI arrest, contact us and schedule an appointment for a free initial consultation. Call our offices in Bridgeport at 203-371-1000.
Building A Defense Against Drunk Driving Charges
Under implied consent laws in the state of Connecticut, drivers who are stopped by police under suspicion of drinking and driving must consent to breath, blood or urine testing for blood alcohol content (BAC). Rejecting a chemical test carries a mandatory license suspension. If you did not refuse a Breathalyzer or other chemical test, you may still face mandatory alcohol education and treatment, license suspension or revocation, and the installation of an ignition interlock system.
In Connecticut, for a first offense, there is a mandatory suspension of no less than 90 days. Jail time for a first offense is unlikely, but for a subsequent offense or in other circumstances with a BAC higher than .15 or where a child is present in the vehicle, there is a greater possibility of incarceration.
Anyone who has had their driver’s license suspended, with some exceptions, may apply for a special driving permit. This permit will allow specific work- or education-related driving. A person is eligible for this permit even with two previous DUI convictions unless the second of those convictions occurred within 10 years of the previous conviction.
A vehicle may have to be equipped with an ignition interlock device in order for the DMV commissioner to issue a work-related special operator permit. As of July 1, 2011, the commissioner may also impose this condition when issuing a special operator permit for educational purposes (PA 11-213, Ǡ37).
Contact Us To Protect Your Rights
If you are worried about the potential penalties for a DUI conviction, speak with a lawyer at Paoletti & Gusmano, Attorneys at Law. Contact us online or by calling 203-371-1000 for a free initial consultation and case evaluation. We can provide effective defense and legal counsel you need to beat your charges.