In the state of Connecticut, a person is considered legally intoxicated if he or she has a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 or higher. For individuals under the age of 21, however, that number lowers to .02 and there are specific penalties that can come as a result of an underage DUI. A person under 21 arrested for a DUI could be facing a lengthy license suspension and a permanent criminal record.
At Paoletti & Gusmano, Attorneys at Law, we provide experienced defense for individuals accused of underage DUI/DWI in Bridgeport and the surrounding communities of Connecticut. Our lawyers have more than 50 years of combined trial experience, and while we cannot guarantee any specific results, it may be possible to reduce the potential penalties and the impact that such an arrest can have on your future.
Ensure your rights, or the rights of your child, are protected. The sooner you contact an attorney, the more time we will have to prepare your defense. Call us for a free initial consultation at 203-371-1000.
Underage DUI License Suspension in Connecticut
Drivers under the age of 21 may have their driver's licenses suspended for up to three years until they reach the age of 21. This license suspension may come in addition to fines and other punishments. In DUI arrests that involve 16- and 17-year-olds, there is an automatic 48-hour summary suspension of their driving privileges. The parent or legal guardian of the DUI offender must then accompany him or her to the police department to re-acquire the license.
If an underage individual arrested for a DUI refuses to submit to a breath test or another chemical test, there may be a lengthier term of suspension.
While the penalties for an underage DUI conviction are serious, that does not mean you are out of options if you have been arrested. Our lawyers will explore every possible criminal defense, including whether Breathalyzer machines were properly calibrated, whether field sobriety tests were administered under proper conditions and whether the initial stop was constitutional. Our firm will review the actions of police officers and challenge any questionable tactics that infringe upon your rights.
Contact a New Haven Underage DUI Attorney
Contact us for a free case evaluation by calling 203-371-1000 to learn more about how we can help you protect your rights and interests. The sooner you contact us, the more time we have to prepare your defense.