If you are found guilty in a criminal case for drunk driving in the state of Connecticut, there are significant penalties that you may face as a result, including the license suspension and a mark on your criminal record. Depending on the circumstances, and your criminal record, you could also serve jail time. It is important to consult with an experienced attorney as soon as possible to protect your rights.
You have the right to a criminal defense. The experienced Bridgeport lawyers of Paoletti & Gusmano, Attorneys at Law, can provide a defense that protects your interests before the criminal court and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). We have more than 50 years of combined trial experience handling drunk driving cases in Connecticut and are not afraid to challenge the police and their evidence.
After a DUI or DWI arrest, contact us and schedule an appointment for a free initial consultation. Call our office at 203-371-1000.
Experienced Bridgeport DWI Defense Attorneys
Under implied consent laws in the state of Connecticut, drivers who are stopped by police under suspicion of drinking and driving must consent to breath, blood or urine testing for blood alcohol content (BAC). Rejecting a chemical test carries a mandatory license suspension.
If you did not refuse a Breathalyzer or other chemical test, you may still face mandatory alcohol education and treatment, license suspension or revocation, and the installation of an ignition interlock system. In Connecticut, for a first offense, there is a mandatory suspension of no less than 90 days. Jail time for a first offense is unlikely, but for a subsequent offense or in other circumstances with a BAC higher than .15 or where a child is present in the vehicle, there is a greater possibility of incarceration.
Connecticut DUI Penalties
Table 1: DUI Criminal Penalties (CGS Ǡ227a (g))
|Conviction||Prison Sentence||Fine||License Suspension|
|First||Either (1) up to six months with a mandatory minimum of two days or (2) up to six months suspended with probation requiring 100 hours of community service||$500- $1,000||45 days, followed by one year driving only a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock.|
|Second (Under Age 21)||Up to two years, with a mandatory minimum of 120 consecutive days and probation with 100 hours community service||$1,000- $4,000||45 days or until age 21,* whichever is longer, followed by three years of driving only a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock, with operation for the first year limited to travel to or from work, school, an alcohol or drug abuse treatment program, or ignition interlock service center.|
|Second (Age 21 or older)||Up to two years, with a mandatory minimum of 120 consecutive days and probation with 100 hours community service||$1,000- $4,000||45 days, followed by three years of driving only a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock, with operation for the first year limited to travel to or from work, school, an alcohol or drug abuse treatment program, or ignition interlock service center.|
|Third and Subsequent||Up to three years, with mandatory minimum of one year and probation with 100 hours community service||$2,000- $8,000||
Through December 31, 2012, the license is revoked, but the offender is eligible for reinstatement after six years. If reinstated, he or she must drive only interlock-equipped vehicles for 10 years after reinstatement.
Starting January 1, 2013, the license is revoked, but the offender is eligible for reinstatement after two years. If reinstated, he or she must drive only interlock-equipped vehicles for as long as the offender drives, except that the commissioner may lift this requirement after 15 years, for good cause.
Table 2: Administrative Per Se License Suspension Periods for Drivers Age 21 and Older
|Per Se Offense||First Offense||Second Offense||Third or Subsequent Offense|
|BAC of .08% or more||90 days||9 months||2 years|
|BAC of .16% or more||120 days||10 months||2 ݠyears|
|Test Refused||6 months||One year||3 years|
By law, anyone who has had a driver's license suspended, except in certain instances, may apply for a special driving permit that allows certain work- or education- related driving. A person is eligible for this permit even with two previous DUI convictions unless the second of those convictions occurred within 10 years of the previous conviction.
The DMV commissioner may condition issuance of a work-related special operator permit on the driver operating only a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device. As of July 1, 2011, she may also impose this condition when issuing a special operator permit for educational purposes (PA 11-213, Ǡ37).
Contact Our Connecticut DUI Attorneys
If you are worried about the potential penalties for a DUI conviction, speak with a lawyer at Paoletti & Gusmano. Contact us by calling 203-371-1000 for a free initial consultation and case evaluation. We can provide effective defense and legal counsel you need to beat your charges.